top of page

My First Time in Europe

This is my first time in Europe since I was a baby to be honest. I was born in Germany and I haven't been back since I was too small to talk. I think I should've spent less time worrying about learning German in two weeks and more time worrying about being warm enough

The first thing we decided to do was go to the Tiergarten - Zoo. Which is actually the oldest zoo in the world if I am not mistaken. I was blown away by the axrchitectire and history

On days I had to venture around all by myself I decided to visit some museums including the Sigmind Frued Museum and the Park behind it where a beautiful castle lives.

I was really kind of nervous to use the subway for the first time alone. I could hardly read any of the names of the stops and they almost all looked the same to me. Even seeing words with the "ß" character in it made me feel like I was in a completely different world.

Walking around unnoticed subtle differences like the way people didn't often smile when you walked passed like I was used to in North Carolina. But that same kind of thing shocked me the first time I went to California as well. I always took it for granted when it was an expected mannerism to acknowledge every human that comes within a certain distance from me.

Luckily I could tell no one was meaning to be rude and I had a hard time stopping myself from smiling at everyone like I had been so used to. In my head I wonder if they think I am some strange girl who wants something from them or something. "Are they wondering why I am smiling at them?"

Eventually I learned how to keep myself warm (layers layers and more layers) because when we went to the small province of Carinthia, it was 3 degrees Celsius and we were going to be walking along the Wörthersee Lake near the University in Klagenfurt.

When it came time my boyfriend and I checked into the 25hour hotel in Vienna, Austria and it was such a cool place! Every inch of the hotel was covered with cool designs and their hotel rooms were all interesting and a bit strange. We were in the circus room where we got to sleep under the clowns.

I got a chance to hang out with some friends from my boyfriends work and convinced them to let me come along with them to the famous Viennese Opera House to see a beautiful ballet. I have a background in modern and ballet dance as well as the wife of the company's owner and I believe it really blew us away. I cried and felt amazingly fancy in such a beautiful building

I definitely made sure I got to see and embrace all that I could in just a couple weeks. There was some great graffiti and fun stickers stuck around town

I visited the MuseumsQuartier an area full of art and museums and culture. Every hall was full of expression and color. I loved being able to explore. And take in the cool and different art

While being fully ashamed of myself I completely enduldged myself in McDonalds from Vienna and it was the best McDonalds I have ever tasted. It was my lucky day I got a chance to eat "Gitter Pommes" (waffle fries) while they were on a limited time promotion and now I have to come this same time every year for more!

We walked around downtown Vienna and checked out the St Stephens Cathedral, it was one of the most beautiful places I've ever seen in person. So much detail and work was put into erecting such a structure and they are constantly working on it throughout the year it makes me wonder how many generations of people have been in and out of those Cathedral walls.

For my first time exploring in another country, I feel like I had a great time. There were moments I didn't understand what was going on around me or what people were saying to me but then there are those moments you feel it all clicking:

I will come back whenever the oppurtunity shows itself again. Next time I think I'll be able to enjoy myself even more than the last!

If you ever visit Vienna these are MUSTHAVES:

The Sacher Torte from the home of the Sacher Torte the Sacher Hotel in Vienna

And the Wiener Schnitzel from the home of the Wiener Schnitzel (like five places say that) Füglmueller

Auf Wiedersehn Vienna, Austria

bottom of page